Approved By
USA Shooting USA Shooting
3 Position Council National Three-Position Air Rifle Council

Orion's National Air Rifle "New Shooter" League

Orion's National Air Rifle New Shooter League

Orion's National Air Pistol League is one of the largest air Pistol leagues in the world! Numberous teams from all over the nation competed virtually in our low-cost and meaningful competition from the comfort of their home ranges. Orion's Virtual Match Technology enables scores from each team to be merged online. Results will be listed live online on Orion's Result Center and within Orion's mobile app. Register your team today for the 2019 season!

  • Registration Deadline: 18 January 2019.
  • Last Day to Withdraw from the Leauge: 18 January 2019
  • Coaches Meeting Webinar: Week of 21 January 2019, exact time not yet set.
  • Pre-Season Competition: 1 January to 27 January 2019
  • Regular Season: 28 January to 7 April 2019


This page does not include complete details for the League. For all information, download the complete National Air Rifle New Shooter League Program.

New Shooter League Registration

Currently Registered Teams.

To register please have the following information available:

  • Your Orion Account information.
  • The number of athletes that will be participating on your team.
  • The email address of your local newspaper or school's newspaper sports editor.

The registration fee is $75 per team.

League Program and 'Instructions and Range Command Manuals'

  • League Program
  • Air Pistol Instructions and Range Commands - Coming Soon

New Shooter League Description

Regular Season Schedule

  • 10 weeks: 28 January to 7 April 2019
  • One game each week against another team in the league. Each team gets two bye weeks.

Team Eligibility

  • All team members must be "New Shooters." Defined as athletes who had their first competition after 1 August 2018.
  • Team members must be active, participating members of the same local club; all star teams are not allowed.
  • Teams must be composed of at least four eligible athletes.


To help encourage the development of young athletes and recognize top performers, The League seeks to provide as many awards as possible to deserving teams and their team members.

The participation and award schedule for 2019 is as follows:

  • Each athlete from each team will receive a participation pin.
  • Each athlete will receive a specially designed league sticker that may be placed on his or her pistol or gear box.
  • A league banner for each participating team.
  • Engraved medals for each athletes in each team that meets two of the three criteria, with specially designed medals for the top three teams:
    • Participates in all eight games during the season.
    • Shows improving scores during the season.
    • Wins 5 or more games during the season.

For more information download the complete National Air Rifle New Shooter League Program

2019 "New Shooter" Team Registrations





Bethel High School AFJROTC (3295)

Spanaway, WA


Bob Jones High School AFJROTC (3015)

Madison, AL

Grant County AJROTC

Grant County High School AJROTC (3463)

Dry Ridge, KY

Mattoon AJROTC

Mattoon High School AJROTC (3450)

Mattoon, IL


Ozark High School AJROTC (2006)

Ozark, MO


Ozark High School AJROTC (2006)

Ozark, MO

South Brunswick AJROTC

South Brunswick High School AJROTC (2941)

Southport, NC